Because i am a Christian

“The world is looking at us..”

They used to call us ‘Holy’ but now we are just some ‘hypocritical society’ who goes to church on a Sunday morning.They have certain expectations on us. Most of the time we failed to live a basic standard Christian life and we confused them with our conducts. We hear the news of Catholic Popes’ sexual harrasments or rape towards young boys and girls, churches split up, mega churches’ slash funds, divorces, legalizing same sex marriage in some churches, gay Pastor married another gay Pastor, i can go on and on. My society comprises of people who are just trying to be better.

No we are not ‘flawless’. We are not perfect and not all of us are kind, loving, gentle, compassionate, understanding.Some knows the word of God but don’t live it, others know a little but practice it. Some just wanna be blessed and be blessed, thus always be blessed. Others enjoy blessing people around and give, give, keep giving. Some have love interest towards same sex, others are into opposite sex. Some goes to church, others don’t. Some are conscientious, others are judgemental. Some enjoy weird habit of complaining about everything and everything revolves around them. Others just keep a simple life of being contended and kind towards everything around them. Some take grace for granted, some live by faith.Some sets boundaries, others live free as a bird. Some talks about God the whole time yet did nothing, whilst others live life humbly yet mission minded.

And they all call themselves ‘Christian’.

I refused to be called a product of this ‘hypocrisy’ just because my fellow brothers and sisters has become a stumbling block to others. For me, i’ve failed many times in my Christian journey too.To bear this name, it’s a constant sacrifice to live a Christ like life. You don’t see a person by their religion , you see their fruits. Even if the fruits are bad, you don’t judge the rest of the trees. There are still good trees that bear good fruits. It’s a matter of time you will know how grace save us for who we are and not what we did.

 

“My non-Christian friends are looking at me…”

They are often puzzled at my behavior. Sometimes they like me a lot. At times i’ve shocked them with what i didn’t do or at least suppose to do. That’s why i was warned in these bible verses;

15 I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16 And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17 As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.[a] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20 Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. (Romans 7:15-20 NIV)

And..they are puzzled with whatever i mentioned above. If i try to explain it, they might not understand. If i don’t explain it, they will never understand. Sometimes i just wanna tell them i am still flesh and blood, i have my selfish days, i have my frowns and downs,  i am not always understanding, can be socially incompetent with limited topics range, not always courteous and worse is….i love watching horror!

 

“And you call yourself a Christian?”

Yes i am a Christian….

Life is not a bed of roses. I don’t wake up and suddenly realize my life will be always be chirpy and happy, my desires and prayers will always be granted, things will work out the way i asked of it since i have God and no calamities or disaster will ever bestow upon my life.It’s not i have no sins or i keep sinning and rely on cheap grace or just live a ‘hypocritical’ life of being a mundane Sunday church goer.  I don’t live in a fairy tale. I struggle like you too. We all do.

The different is when i hit a storm, i have someone i can depend on. Not human. Not a device. Not a charm. Just God alone. People has so many ideas of how God is. Different religion tells you different story. My story is this…

“Christianity is NOT a religion. It is a relationship with God.”

Stay tune for more…

 

 

Leave a Reply

